The Infinity Gene by Sue Wyshynski || Excerpt

Author: Sue Wyshynski
Title: The Infinity Gene 
Series: Girl on Fire #2
Genre: na, romance, science fiction, thriller
Published: August 31st 2017
Goodreads: The Infinity Gene

Amazon: The Infinity Gene

Synopsis: 

My name is Aeris Thorne. I am a genetically modified human. 

Discover the exciting, long-awaited sequel to The Butterfly Code, the sci-fi romance thriller that’s captivating readers around the world. 

Hurtful secrets. 
Terrifying warnings. 
Forbidden love. 

All I wanted was to spend a last few weeks with the man I love before tearing myself away to lick my wounds. 
I know Hunter and I can never be together–too many differences lie between us. He’s a member of an elite group of superhumans. And what am I? His mistake. 
But we will have no tender respite. No final few magical days. Not us. Not now that I’ve learned a death sentence hangs over my head. Powerful forces are descending upon the cozy little town of Deep Cove, Maine. Beneath the cover of whispering trees, along the shores of wave-tumbled beaches, people are vying for power. 
And I have become the center of the war. 
For Hunter’s sake, I’m desperate to run away. Far away. To hide so that no one can find me. For if I stay, I’ll destroy us both. 
But there’s a child involved now. A seven-year-old girl who’s been pulled into my deadly vortex. There can be no running. No hiding. Not with the child’s life at stake, too. 
Startling changes are beginning to take hold of me–I can feel them burning through my veins. My only ally is the man I love, the one I can never be with. I’m desperate to hide the truth from him. He can’t know what I’m becoming. For if I put my faith in him, if we stand together, we’ll both be dead. 

Romantic. Dangerous. Action-packed. Discover the exciting sequel to the sci-fi romance thriller that’s captivating readers around the world. For fans of The Pretties, Twilight, and The Mortal Instruments. If you love exciting romances, nail-biting action, urban fantasy, fated mates, young adult dark romance, and some devilish bad boys, then the world of THE GIRL ON FIRE SERIES awaits you!

Excerpt:

I keep going, straining for the sound of voices.
My violin case feels oddly fragile in my arms. I cling to it, my fingers so tense they ache. The scent of industrial cleaner permeates the air, so cloying and heavy it seems to slick my tongue. I weave around the remains of a gutted photocopier toward where the cubicles are stacked more densely. Maybe they've made a sort of office back there?
But when I clear them, I find myself staring out into more empty space.
And then I see the chair.
It's placed dead center, an anomaly in the gloom. I squint, hard, and make out a small figure seated in the shadows. A child. 
"Hello?" I call out.
No response.
Sweat prickles along my scalp. I swallow as fear rises with startling speed, sliding noose-like around my neck. 
Everything about this is wrong.
All completely wrong.
My breath quickens as I take a few more steps forward.
Enough to see the child for what she is. 
A girl. No more than six or seven years old. Arms bound behind her to the chair. Mouth gagged.
Oh my god. No wonder she didn't respond. 
I glance at Earpiece-guy, expecting to read horror in his eyes. He merely studies me with interest.
Fear ricochets from my skull to my spine to my legs that turn to Jell-O.
"What is this?" I demand.

"You tell me," says the goon at my side. And then he smiles.

Happy reading,

Anie


XBTBanner1

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular Posts