Deadly Curious by Cindy Anstey

That was so much fun to read! :) I felt like I was reading Jane Austin's novel, but instead, the lead is solving a mystery. :)

My favorite thing about the story is the setting, there is something about that time in history, especially if it's set in the English countryside.

Sophia's prospects of escaping home via marriage kind of went down the drain when her cousin got murdered. Now she is set on finding a career and she has her eyes set on Bow Street Runners. :) When her cousin writes a letter and asks her to help solve a murder because she is desperate, she jumps at a chance.

There is a young policeman on the case and they start to unravel the mystery together.

It's such a good book! I flew through the pages and had so much fun reading! :) 
rating 💜💜💜💜
cover 💙💙💙💙💙

genre
historical romance, ya
published
June 23rd, 2020 by Swoon Reads
number of pages
352


giveaway

synopsis
A twisty tale reminiscent of Jane Austen—with a dash of murder—Cindy Anstey’s Deadly Curious is perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Agatha Christie.

Some secrets are better left buried…

1834. Sophia Thompson wants nothing more than to be one of the famed Bow Street Runners, London’s most elite corps of detectives. Never mind that a woman has never before joined their ranks—and certainly never mind that her reclusive family has forbidden her from pursuing such an unladylike goal.

She gets the chance to prove her capabilities when an urgent letter arrives from her frantic cousin Daphne, begging Sophia to come look into the suspicious death of Daphne’s brother.

As Sophia begins to unravel the tangled threads of the case—with the help of a charming young policeman—she soon realizes that the murderer may be even closer to her family than she ever suspected.

happy reading,
anie 

XBTBanner1

Comments

Popular Posts